Going on A Walk

I’d like to think that I’ve done enough walking for a lifetime. That those 89 miles this summer are all I’ll ever need to walk. However, I know I’m wrong. The points brought up in the article “Why Walking Helps Us Think” by Ferris Jabr echo my own experience in college.

I cannot study in my room. It’s too easy for me to get distracted and I wind up sleeping or watching Netflix. If I do manage to get work done, after a couple hours I need a break. What do I do on that break? I go outside, get out of my room. I walk to the dining hall or head outside.

I’ve found that I study much better outside. Just yesterday, I took a walk to the botanical garden to do homework. I felt more fresh and stimulated. It was quiet, but the sounds of birds and streams echoed in the background. I loved it. Other times, I’ve studied outside on benches or set up my hammock in the trees.

I am supposed to be scared of walking alone at night. I’m a female on a college campus. Statistically, I should be terrified. The thing is, I’m not. I love walking around the campus at night on the way back from class. It’s beautiful. I have time to myself to think and not be doing homework.

In all fairness, maybe some people do work better if they just sit down and get things done. I know I’ve had days where I needed to do that. But if I’m presented with the option of going outside and taking a walk before doing my work, I’ll gladly choose that over the library any day. God, I don’t know what I’m going to do when winter comes.

 

Leave a Reply

