I Hate the Millennial Stereotype

This blog post is in response to “Why Writers Are the Worst Procrastinators” by Megan McArdle. It can be found here : http://www.theatlantic.com/business/archive/2014/02/why-writers-are-the-worst-procrastinators/283773/ .

God, I thought this article was going to be interesting. I really had high hopes for it. I thought it would be a neat look at why I’m so terrible at getting ahead on my work. It would finally present the key to why I procrastinate all the time.

It did, if only for a little while. In McArdle’s view, writers breezed through English class. To them, it was always easy. Now that they are on their own, they are scared of failure. McArdle also ties in information about fixed and growth mindset, something I’ve actually studied in prior English classes.

But then this article takes a turn towards MY LEAST FAVORITE SUBJECT. Millennial stereotyping. How original. McArdle’s article becomes one of millions making the same argument. Millennials are all used to feedback, they are entitled, they are “trophy kids”, etc. If I had a dollar for every time I’ve heard this, I’d have as much money as the average college education costs nowadays. Which is a lot, by the way.

Look, I’m not saying studying millennials isn’t worth it. I’m not even saying that all those stereotypes are wrong. I’m just sick and tired of hearing people make millennials out to be this enigma of entitlement. It completely ignores, others, and discredits an entire generation. And because of this, I am unable to look and focus on what the article may have been trying to get across in the first place.

Leave a Reply

